Admiralty Head Lighthouse and Rosario Beach

The first weekend in June I enjoyed a weekend with family and friends at Rosario Beach, and afterwards, a drive across Whidbey Island and a ride on the Mukilteo Ferry. I did not have time to sketch as I went, so took photos and just finished the sketches today.

IMG_5022

Besides beach rocks, I collected a buttercup that was growing beside the the path and some leaves that had fallen from a madrone tree. I have good memories of madrone trees from my childhood and have always loved their smooth, brownish orange bark. I glued the collected samples into my sketch journal and drew around them.

IMG_5023

IMG_5025

From the porch of the cabin where we stayed there was a strangly formed tree. And we found plenty of crabs and other sea “people” in the tide pools.

IMG_5026

I always love visiting Admiralty Head Lighthouse. It was fun exploring the light tower with the grandkids.

IMG_5031

18 thoughts on “Admiralty Head Lighthouse and Rosario Beach

  1. I’m in love with this series of images from Whidbey Island – truly a peaceful and special place. I like the unique angle that you’ve chosen to sketch the lighthouse. I just never thought of that! 😉

    Like

  2. Fay, with your delicate paintings and your beautiful words you could make any place a paradise look-alike! All of it is simply wonderful. Thank you.
    And those berries look interesting!

    Like

  3. As always, I LOVE your work…..your style and eye for detail just really grab my eye as I’m flipping through the WordPress Reader! Plus, what a beautiful and creative way to preserve precious memories for those coming up behind you. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment