Stonehenge Aqua Coldpress 300 lb – Love it!

I think my quest of finding a paper that is a dream to draw on as well as handling watercolor washes is finally coming true! The test drawing on the Stonehenge Aqua coldpress 300 lb sample was truly a pleasure. I did a preliminary pencil drawing, which included erasing, then used my Platinum Preppy fine point with Noodler’s Brown #41 ink for the drawing. The ink dried quickly with no feathering. The pen did not drag or catch on fibers, the paper texture was smooth enough for the lines to remain accurate. When I applied watercolor washes, I was impressed with how easy they were to blend and grade. And adding darks posed no problem. And colors remained vibrant.

Since drawing has always been my first love, with watercolor being a very close second love, I was very pleased at the ease of drawing on this paper. Usually, if a watercolor paper works well with washes, drawing on it is less that satisfactory for me. Happily, even though this sample was 300 lb paper, which usually has a slightly softer surface sizing than the 140 lb., both drawing and adding watercolor washes were a pleasure. The lines drawn on the face, which was the most important for the successful outcome of this drawing, were clean and accurate.

IMG_3840

Washes blended and graded and were controlled easily.

IMG_3841

I am looking forward with anticipation to testing the Stonehenge Aqua coldpress 140 lb. watercolor paper. If it performs as well as the 300 lb paper did, I will soon be making a new journal using Stonehenge Aqua coldpress, 140 lb watercolor paper!

 

