Head Start on July Journaling

I couldn’t wait for the beginning of July to move into one of the little pocket journals I made, so I sketched a few of the blossoms that are in my yard and in the valley right now. The starter page has a quote by Hannah Hinchman and a sketch of my Noodler’s Konrad Flex fountain pen, fine nib, which holds Noodler’s Brown #41 ink.


The journal paper is 90 lb Saunders Waterford cold press watercolor paper, and I am happy with how it is handling so far. There is very little buckling even with watery washes, and it holds the pigments well, allowing for manipulation and blending. When I first used the fountain pen the surface seemed a little “fibery” so I wondered if the surface would be too soft for my taste. But the ink didn’t feather and the paint works fine and keeps the intensity of the pigments. In fact, I really like how this watercolor paper handles even in this thin weight.  Think it may become a favorite paper for my journals.

This little pocket journal makes me want to get out there and sketch! I think it will get a lot of use.
 

