Autumn Begins

I did a few sketches celebrating Fall, to test the little sketchbook with Strathmore Aquarius II 80 lb paper. I used my Platinum Preppy fountain pen this time and had much better success with the drawing. I am still getting used to what I can do with the watercolors on this paper. The surface of the paper somehow seems to resist and at the same time absorb, so the paint does not stay vibrant but becomes flat. It can also be lifted off very easily when applying a second wash. Even the ink can be lifted off if disturbed too much. You almost need to do everything in one wash. I did use watercolor pencil over a dried wash, but even using water to activate the pencil, disturbed the under wash. However, all these limitations force me to keep things simple, and I am kind of getting attached to this little sketchbook.

