Matchbox Pocket Sketchbooks

To go with my mini paint set I decided to make a pocket sketchbook. There are lots of tutorials out there on how to make a variety of pocket notebooks. I decided to try the matchbook style in 3″x 5″ and 3.5″x 5,” finished. Both sizes are perfect for tucking in a purse or pocket. The 3.5″x 5″ is just enough wider to make it easier to sketch, I think. I made several using materials I had on hand, cereal box cardboard, scrapbooking paper, PVA glue, cotton wrapped elastic for closure and a corner rounder. Some have watercolor paper inside for doing mini watercolor sketches, and some have simple copy paper, which is my favorite paper to draw and doodle on.

These two sketchbooks hold paper for drawing.

FullSizeRender-3 3

FullSizeRender-1 2

These two sketchbooks hold watercolor paper hand torn to make a deckle edge.

FullSizeRender-4 2

FullSizeRender 2

I didn’t use any stitching on the paper stacks. The drawing paper was cut, stacked and glued at the end. The watercolor paper was folded, stacked and glued on the folded end. The stacks of paper were weighted down then glued to keep the papers stacked tightly.

I love the way they turned out and they fit perfectly in my small purse! They will be so easy to take anywhere.

FullSizeRender-5 2

FullSizeRender-6 2

