2015 Journal Catch Up

I’m finally catching up on my 2015 sketch journal. This spread is from a wonderful weekend spent at Rosario Beach on the coast of Washington State last Spring. The weather was perfect, the water was glassy calm and we had lots of fun exploring tide pools out on the point.

I am using a sketchbook I made myself with 140lb Fabriano wc paper. This paper has a smoother finish, so takes ink well, but has enough texture to be able to manipulate the watercolors. I use tube paints, Winsor Newton and Daniel Smith, and Albrecht Durer, Faber-Castell watercolor pencils, which are wonderful. Inking is done using my inexpensive little Preppy fountain pen and waterproof carbon ink.

This was so much fun, I can’t wait to begin a new page!

Stay creative! It is the best therapy!

Fay

IMG_4997Web

IMG_5000Web

9 thoughts on “2015 Journal Catch Up

  1. Fay, First I have to say how impressed I am with the work I see here. WOW! I found you at the “Sustainably Creative 2-Week Challenge.” I read your introduction there. I find that you and I are the only ones I’ve read so far that are from this part of the world. I am from Sandpoint, Idaho. I would love to chat more, but I couldn’t find out how to connect with you on the Sustainably Creative Website. I hope you can figure it out and we can connect. We should have fun with the challenge. Please try to contact me.

    Like

  2. Christina, Thank you so much for connecting. Yay! for the Northwest! Right? No landscapes/scenery so awesome as we have. We are very blessed. I’m glad you enjoy my work. I have been drawing all my life. All my other projects are a take off from my drawing. FINALLY, after all these years, I am getting around to doing what I’ve wanted to do all this time, keep a watercolor journal. I must say I’m loving it. I prefer to take photographs in the field due to usually lacking time to stay and sketch, as well as a sensitivity to light. So I do my work in the studio. That way I don’t feel rushed and have had time to think about what I have seen and decide what was important to me. Thanks so much for stopping by and leaving a note. I hope we can get better acquainted.

    Like

Comments are closed.